The stunning costumes of the the dancers Comparsa Orgullo Morelense Cemiac. Tara pointed out that the historic traditions illuminated are Aztec.

The stunning costumes of the the dancers Comparsa Orgullo Morelense Cemiac. Tara pointed out that the historic traditions illuminated are Aztec.

The 82nd Avenue of Roses parade is the first sanctioned event of the Portland Rose Festival season. Roses are very big around here.

I live about five blocks away from 82nd Ave, so when I heard the drums from my house, I made a last minute decision. Quick-changed out of my jammies (come on, don’t judge, it’s the weekend!), grabbed my camera, and hustled over to 82nd Street by 10am. I missed the beginning, but arrived in time to catch some good stuff.

The banner “Orgullo Morelense Cemiac” was one of the first I saw. I had never heard of these dancers until Saturday. I had to look them up. They are American citizens with roots in Morelos, Mexico, performing the Chinelo traditional dance popular in that region. I read in one Oregonian piece that the leader had one costume made to honor his new home in Oregon. I wonder if that’s the one you see above, on the right. (click the image to enlarge it)

Elaborate costume with stylized upturned beard.

Elaborate costume with stylized upturned beard.

This little girl was next to me and was having the time of her life with her grandpa by her side. "Papa! This is the best parade EVER!" she squealed at one point.

This little girl was next to me and was having the time of her life with her grandpa by her side. “Papa! This is the best parade EVER!” she squealed at one point.

We are simpler and more “small-town” out this far from the city center. I was also standing at the very end of the parade, so you see there weren’t many spectators. It was the kind of parade that makes you feel like you’re in a neighborhood. Which I am.

Some comic relief

Some comic relief

"Miss Tall Portland!" I simply LOVE that there is a Miss Tall Portland.

I simply LOVE that there is a Miss Tall Portland from the Portland Skyliners Club.

Must have a Chinese dragon at a parade! They handled those sticks with a lot of skill.

Must have a Chinese dragon at a parade! They handled those sticks with skill.

Yes, our mounted police are in danger from budget cuts.

Yes, our mounted police are in danger from budget cuts.

While our Timbers Army may be famous, we've got rabid fans of other team too: like those who love the Blazers and the Winterhawks - our ice hockey team.

While our Timbers Army may be famous, we’ve got rabid fans of other teams too: like those who love the Blazers and the Winterhawks – our ice hockey team.

More comedy from the County Corner. There are all manner of the dead and mysterious marching with this hearse.

The light side of being County Coroner. There are all manner of mysterious beings marching with this hearse.

Like these two. Eeek.

Like these two. Eeek.

I adore the hot rods! The Nova is my very most favourite muscle car.

I adore the hot rods! The Nova is my very most favourite muscle car.

DSC_0650DSC_0663

 

Hey! This guy is my neighbor. What a fun idea for a paint job.

Hey! This guy is my neighbor. What a fun idea for a paint job.

 

