Rivendell in Legos

Rivendell (from Lord of the Rings & The Hobbit) in Legos. Please click the image for a larger version.

Over the weekend, I agreed to meet the boys at Bricks Cascade 2014 Public Expo at the Convention Center in Portland. Legos are not a big deal to me, but I was not about to admit that outloud. The convention center hall was filled with people who love Legos. These were geeks with a capital G.

We mainly walked around and looked at what the inspired Lego Geeks had built. There was a superhero section, an insect section, and a train section. There were space ships and imagined planets. There was a whole section dedicated to Old School Lego (I’ll put that photo in for you to see). I am going to post some of what we saw.  Look how super fun and amazing these creations are!

close-up of a portion of Rivendell

close-up of a portion of Rivendell

close-up of a portion of Rivendell

close-up of a portion of Rivendell

The Quidditch pitch at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry

The Quidditch pitch at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry

Close-up of the spectators and players

Close-up of the spectators and players

Taktsang (Tiger’s Nest) Monastery in Bhutan. The builder was kind enough to pose for me.

Taktsang (Tiger’s Nest) Monastery in Bhutan. The builder was kind enough to pose for me.

One of my favourites: Downtown Portland

One of my favourites: Downtown Portland

Another fave: surfin' Lego Dude

Another fave: surfin’ Lego Dude

One of several battle scenes. Check out the exploding dirt.

One of several battle scenes. Check out the exploding dirt.

Battle scene.

Battle scene in the jungle, on the edge of a sea. (That’s an entire enormous ship down at the other end.)

A different battle scene.

close-up of the battle scene above. I like the 3D trenches.

Plenty of happy scenes were interspersed to cheer us up after the war scenes.

Plenty of happy scenes were interspersed to cheer us up after the war scenes.

If your Lego creation is really awesome and you get an award... what do you guess it's made of?

If your Lego creation is really awesome and you get an award… what do you guess it’s made of?

Notre Dame cathedral. I like the idea of overlapping architecture: How Legos are used to recreate a cathedral that is remarkable for its construction.

Notre Dame cathedral. I like the idea of overlapping architecture: How Legos are used to recreate a cathedral that is remarkable for its construction.

There were a couple of movie theatres. This one has famous patrons.There were a couple of movie theatres. This one has famous patrons.

A temple surrounded by cherry trees.

A temple surrounded by cherry trees.

Old School Legos! I looked at this and all the Legos of my past came back to me.

Old School Legos! I looked at this and all the Legos of my past came back to me.

