Thumbnail moon through birch seed pods.

Thumbnail moon through birch seed pods.

Out in my yard one evening, I looked up and spotted the moon through the branches of the weeping birch tree in my back yard. There is something very appealing and artistic about the shape of those seed pods, dripping down from the branches. I have noticed my birch tree several times during the last few days, and I am loving the changing views with the changing light.

Morning light makes dark shadows

Morning light makes dark shadows

Afternoon sun bursting between clouds lights up the pods to their yellowy fullness.

Afternoon sun bursting between clouds lights up the pods to their yellowy fullness.

The old brown pods are gone, and the new golden pods are packed with life potential.

The old brown pods are gone, and the new golden pods are packed with life potential.

Do you see what I mean about their shape? The field of vertical rods contrasts the branches of the cherry tree behind them.

Cherry blossoms

Cherry blossoms

Blossoms exploding in the sunshine like popcorn

Blossoms exploding in the sunshine like popcorn

{Oh, how clever this is! Click for what one crafter has done with birch seed pods.}

