Portland Pride Parade 2014. The 44th annual parade celebrates legal marriage for same sex couples this year.

Portland Pride Parade 2014. The 44th annual parade celebrates legal marriage for same sex couples this year.

My Tara was in the parade for the first time this year! It was exciting to get ready and to show up early and wander through the staging area, which I haven’t done before. Tara had cut up her Madison High School Gay Straight Alliance T-shirt and made a really awesome shirt out of it. Sadly, it was cold and rainy before the parade so she kept a sweater on and I couldn’t get a photo of the awesomely creative dragon-spawn I call my kid. Even sadder: I never even saw her in the parade. She wasn’t with a float, just a group of kids, and I spotted her group as they were already past me, and I couldn’t pick her out. I am So Bummed.

Tara and my Uncle Jim in the staging area. She was between floats 50 and 51, and he was float 79, so even though the parade had started at this time, we were still at leisure.

Tara and my Uncle Jim in the staging area. She was between floats 50 and 51, and he was float 79, so even though the parade had started at this time, we were still at leisure.

Dancers with Maracatu PDX

Dancers with Maracatu PDX

Yup. It's Portland. It rained. But it didn't seem to damped anyone's spirits.

Yup. It’s Portland. It rained. But it didn’t seem to dampen anyone’s spirits.

She was so funny. "The rain is melting my hair!"

Lotta Marie Liquor was so funny. “The rain is melting my hair!” (it still looks great.)

Rainbow Balloons are required at Pride Parade

Rainbow Balloons are required at Pride Parade

We saw plenty of vuvuzelas this World Cup Sunday

We saw plenty of vuvuzelas this World Cup Sunday

Well, I could have guessed that Indians are proud, too

Well, I could have guessed that Indians are proud, too

I don't know who this guy is/ is representing, but he's awesome.

I don’t know who this guy is/ is representing, but he’s awesome. Look at the little tyke in the yellow rain slicker in the background.

Maracatu PDX had wonderful costumes

Maracatu PDX had wonderful costumes

Here's another couple of dancers from Maracatu PDX

Here’s another couple of dancers from Maracatu PDX

This fashion hasn't gone out of style yet, and probably won't.

Old fashions haven’t gone out of style yet, and probably won’t.

I got a kick out of the softball players, the Fairies and the Cubs

I got a kick out of the softball players, the Fairies and the Cubs

Things warmed up a little when this float came by

Things warmed up a little when this float came by

 

Ok, I’ll say it: this had to be a crushing blow to a dog ego, if there is such a thing. There were lots and lots of parade dogs this year, all decked in finery from pink tutus to monster costumes and rainbow clown collars. Oh, you poor doggies. I hope your people took you home and gave you bunches of love for putting up with our human silliness. 🙂

monster dog

monster dog

I didn't know their spots came in those colors!

I didn’t know their spots came in those colors!

