A photojournal of the final days of one tree’s life:

My phone captured Mt. Hood peeking above the tree farm trees.

My phone captured Mt. Hood peeking above the tree farm trees.

IMG_0741

Tara is testing the tree height to see if it will be right for our living room.

Stringing lights and scattering needles everywhere. (I'm still finding them!)

Getting ready to string lights and scatter needles everywhere. (I’m still finding them!)

Glass ball received as a gift from Mom years ago.

Glass ball received as a gift from Mom years ago.

Cloth origami crane from my trip to Japan.

Cloth origami crane from my trip to Japan.

Gift time! Tara's holding a T-shirt with the pattern of the Portland International Airport carpet.

Gift time! Tara’s holding a T-shirt with the pattern of the Portland International Airport carpet.

Gifts gone, and it looks a little empty beneath that tree. I love how the lights reflect off the floor.

Gifts gone, and it looks a little empty beneath that tree. I love how the lights reflect off the floor. (Yes, yes, it’s a ginormous TV. I didn’t buy it, it’s actually a hand-me-down.)

Goodbye tree. You are still beautiful. Thank you for being in our home.

Goodbye tree. You are still beautiful. Thank you for being in our home.

My neighbor across the street has a friend with goats, and the goats just love to eat Christmas trees. So… that’s where the tree will go next.

