The sun sets over the Columbia River

The sun sets over the Columbia River

We had some mighty hot days here in Portland Oregon not too long ago. I was trying to move from my old house to the new house, in the off hours between work hours. I was tired and sweating.

A friend offered to meet me at the river and that was a great plan. I took a break from packing and was still dressed in shorts and a t-shirt, but when I spotted that water, I just waded right in. J waded in after me and we stood in the water and I unloaded all my worries for about two hours as we watched the sun drop to the horizon.

It was just what the doctor ordered.

Cars zoom past on I-205 between Vancouver, Washington and Portland, Oregon. These two cities (and states) straddle the huge Columbia River.

Cars zoom past on I-205 between Vancouver, Washington and Portland, Oregon. These two cities (and states) straddle the huge Columbia River.

J directed me to a beach that was west of the I-205 bridge.

J directed me to a beach that was west of the I-205 bridge.

Here, dozens of families unwound and cooled off. You can still see the bridge in the background, as well as my favourite volcano: Mt. St. Helens.

Here, dozens of families unwound and cooled off. You can still see the bridge in the background, as well as my favourite volcano: Mt. Hood.

A few sailboats were out.

A few sailboats were out.

The air was warm. The water was warm. The people were warm - even the talking and laughter were like a blanket around me. In this softness, the copper sun sank into the water.

The air was warm. The water was warm. The people were warm – even the talking and laughter were like a blanket around me. In this softness, the copper sun sank into the water.

